Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 18

graren

USA
161 Posts

Posted - 13 Feb 2007 :  08:19:18  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Sorry, my mistake. I might have read it wrong. I thought you were going for the angle of he's being told he is the son of a stark but he feels that he isn't.

I'm not a scientist, statistics have no meaning to me.
I'm an artist, expressions of feeling are how I see the world.
Go to Top of Page

Vassor Doss
Advanced Member

USA
2224 Posts

Posted - 16 Feb 2007 :  01:46:20  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I'm more than halfway thru Thrones again and I haven't found that many references to this theory. Here's an interesting thing: The first sentence of the Eddard chapter on page 424 Ned thinks of Lyanna "lying in blood". This is followed by Ned's dream of his fight with the remaining members of the Kingsguard outside a tower. After some words with the Kingsguard, the two sides clash and Eddard hears Lyanna scream "Eddard" and then the ambiguous "promise me".

I have a few questions: What does Ned's fight against the last of the Kingsguard still loyal to Aerys have to do with Lyanna's death? Why does Ned think of her before and after this battle? Why were they not at the Trident or at Kings Landing like Ned asks? Ser Georld says that they were "far away". If those three were at the Trident, then the outcome could have been different there. So where the hell were they?

"Per me si va ne l'etterno dolore" - Dante Alighieri
Go to Top of Page

Vassor Doss
Advanced Member

USA
2224 Posts

Posted - 25 Feb 2007 :  21:03:37  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Ok, here's a couple more. On page 631, Ned remembers a tourney when Rhaegar wins the jousting competition and he rides past his wife Elia, and he places the beauty laurel in Lyanna's lap. They were a "crown of winter roses, blue as frost." Then the ol' "Promise me, Ned" appears a few sentences later.