Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

MarkJohnH
Starting Member

11 Posts

Posted - 23 May 2007 :  21:47:05  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi everyone,

I’m very happy to say that I’ve just had my debut novel published and would love to swap thoughts and opinions on what makes a compelling read. With this in mind, what do you think attracts a potential reader? Would it be the front cover like mine below or is it more likely to be on the strength of the synopsis? Just how important is the cover art and what really determines our decision to invest the time to actually sit down and read a book? As a new author, I feel these questions are very important, so any insights you can give will be greatly appreciated.

Link to Cover

Edited by - Sirch on 24 May 2007 00:10:40

Sirch
Advanced Member

USA
2668 Posts

Posted - 24 May 2007 :  00:14:29  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
I fixed your image link for you.

When I go in and look for a new book. Honestly first I go read reveiws or I normally get it suggested to me. But if I am in the book store just looking around, as I am on occasion, a good title will catch my eye. If the title gets my attention I'll read the synopsis on the back, if it still seems like something I would want to read I will read a few pages of the first chapter and a segment from the middle to see how the author writes. If it is interesting to me I will probaly buy.

-----
Thats the inherit beauty of the single file line. They can only kill the person in front! - Sarge
Go to Top of Page

gypsy

USA
272 Posts

Posted - 24 May 2007 :  02:19:24  Show Profile  Reply with Quote